Herbs, Flowers, and Weeds for Chickens

By Mountain Peeps · Jan 31, 2015 · Updated Feb 1, 2015 · ·
Rating:
4.94118/5,
  1. honanbm
    "Great article — I'm a lover of lists!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 26, 2019
    Very nice article with useful information.
    I had an EE hen who loved laying her eggs in a box of lavender on my deck. I have found that adding lavender to places that I'd like my hens to lay encourages them to use that spot. Be it the cat house, the wood box on the deck or the ground behind the wheelbarrow, I'm just happy to find them!
    I'm curious, do you feed herbs fresh or do you dry them first? Do you hens have favorite herbs? If so, which ones?
    Thanks for writing!
    20150501_164020-1.jpg
  2. Nathaliexx
    "Very useful!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 21, 2019
    We need to do some “garden pimping” for our little flock.
    So glad with this article!
  3. fldiver97
    "Nice overview!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 19, 2019
    I enjoyed reading this article! Quick review on some plants chickens can (and the ones they shouldn’t) eat. Also useful to know some herbs and flowers can be used in nesting boxes
  4. Ursuline Chick
    "Very informative"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 19, 2019
    I love that this article gives a good over view of what you want and don't want in the areas your chickens roam. Excellent information! Thank you. :highfive:
  5. kschaff1
    "Great info!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 19, 2019
    Was looking for this information, glad to find a nice neat list like this!
  6. Anonymous
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 17, 2019
    Thanjs! Very informative.
  7. ButtonquailGirl14
    "Thank you!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 12, 2019
  8. SurferchickinSB
    "Interesting article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 10, 2019
    I love watching my chickens in the garden picking and pecking at everything around them. It’s pretty entertaining!
  9. The Phantom
    "Awesome topic!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 10, 2019
  10. SimplyLivinthatFarmLife
    "Great Reminder of edibles for chickens"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2018
    Great article reminding us of all the herbs, flowers and weeds that chickens can eat.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: