How much room do chickens need

What is important is how much space is available when they need it. Whether that space in in your coop, coop and run, or they sleep in trees and...
By Ridgerunner · Dec 1, 2013 · Updated Jan 24, 2015 · ·
Rating:
4.92453/5,
  1. firsttimechickenmamainRI
    "Thanks for this!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 28, 2019
    Great help, now my husband needs to work on a coop extension, complete with a higher roosting bar so the pecking order can be maintained...
  2. DixxieChick
    "Excellent"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 27, 2019
    This is a well thought out article. Thank you for taking the time to write and share it with us!
  3. NoodlesMama
    "Great article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 2, 2019
    I love how this takes into consideration everyone has different needs. Right now I’m getting teased by my neighbor for over providing space for my chickens but come fall when my chick order comes and is ready to join the flock it will be just right with a little wiggle room. Meanwhile he had to give some of his away due to crowding issues. His loss was my gain because of all the “wasted” space I had I was able to accommodate the birds he needed to rehome ASAP. He teases me but we keep chickens for different reasons, where he is only concerned with production I keep mine for pets and eggs. I spoil mine where he is more bare bones. At the at the end of the day each of us will do what is best for our individual flock’s needs as well as well as what experience has taught us works.
  4. HennyPenny2019
    "A Must Read"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 30, 2019
    this provided me with insight and direction as I figure out how much run I need for my coop. Great job!
  5. jeepgrrl
    "Most eggcellent article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 29, 2019
    Very informative article, and it answered some questions I had. Thank you for posting it! :thumbsup
  6. tlatham72
    "Great (Needed) Perspective for Us Newbies"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 17, 2019
    Your article was immensely helpful in filling in the nuances of what it means to balance the space needs of a flock and people needs and how greatly the space needs can vary depending on circumstances. Much food for thought as I plan my first coop and run, especially the tip about thinking down the road and aiming to give oneself flexibility. I currently plan to only have 4 hens (my first flock), but I can totally see how I could decide to add new hens once I've got the hang of it and fall in love with my girls. :)
  7. ValerieJ
    "Wish I had seen your articles 4 years ago!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 23, 2019
    I started with a coop that was the perfect size for my 6 new chicks 4 years ago. 4x8 with 6 external nesting boxes and a huge run (a small orchard). As my flock has grown I have had to add additional coops and have even divided the run for when I need to segregate chickens. But now, I want one huge coop like the one you have built!!! Great advice here.
  8. Kee11
    "Great overview for us newbies!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 25, 2019
    Thanks for the in-depth coverage of this topic. It is very helpful as I plan my coop and the number of chickens that will eventually occupy it... their health and well-being is my highest priority.
  9. Anonymous
    "Points to Consider re: Room"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 19, 2019
  10. Brahmachicken240
    "Good article"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jan 16, 2019

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: