Keeping Your Chickens Cool In Summer

Here are some great tips on how to keep your chickens cool during the hot days of summer.
By AnimalGeek23 · Jun 28, 2018 · Updated Jul 2, 2018 · ·
Rating:
4.42308/5,
  1. littlebarngirl
    "Keep it Cool!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 16, 2019
    Great article! So important to keep chickens cool and hydrated in the summer time.
  2. CaramelKittey
    "Awesome!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 13, 2019
    These ideas are great to use for chickens! I love the frozen ice pops for chickens! I’ll have to try it with blueberries! My birds love them! Shade and fresh water is the most important thing for birds! Ice cubes is clever!
    Awesome!
  3. TheBantyShanty
    "Good Ideas To Keep Them Cool!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 8, 2019
    These are good, simple ways to cool chickens! Although some of these may not work too well when it gets REALLY hot, they are good ideas to keep them cool, or to at least help keep them cool!

    A few other things you can do is to put electrolytes in their water so they don't get dehydrated and it helps them stay more hydrated. And also freezing tiles as well. The tiles may get dirty, but they do help keep them cool. Once the tile thaws out, you can stick it back in the freezer!
    Overall, a very good and helpful article! :thumbsup
  4. alex5chickens
    "Great information!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 8, 2019
    I do some of the same things with my chickens!
  5. meetthebubus
    "You just dont know.."
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed May 6, 2019
    ... until you spend summers in 120 f with chickens. This is how to keep them cool super basicly there are lots of places all over the world that get really hot and this article won't help, sorry.

    BYC should supply a better article on this, when I was new I had NO idea because it's not common to talk about the heat and chickens.
    There is soooooo much more info on this that should be addressed and if you are going to feature a article please make sure it's more informative because if I followed the tips in this my chickens would die of heat exhaustion.
    mdquilts likes this.
  6. Butterscotchbitesfinger
    "I already have my cool down ice pops made"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 6, 2019
    only bummer is I have over thirty chickens I have to supply ice pops for :p
  7. countrylass58
    "Very good article on keeping your Chickens cool."
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 12, 2018
    After reading the article, "borrowed" the grandkids kiddie pool (outgrown) and decided the chickens could make better use of it. They love it. Placed under my apple tree (shade) they seem quite content to spend the hot days there or under my cedar hedge. I have also used my sprinkler as an alternative way to cool the chickens and they seem to enjoy standing under it.
  8. Silkie nerd
    "Very Helpful!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 11, 2018
  9. BrittanyTheYooper
    "Good tips"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 9, 2018
    i will be making my chickens some ice pops tomorrow
  10. Anonymous
    "Great tips"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 9, 2018
    :woot

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: