What Happens When Chickens Molt?

By Mountain Peeps · Dec 24, 2014 · Updated Aug 18, 2015 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. Tinamariebutterfly
    "Great Explanation for Beginner Chicken Keepers!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 17, 2019 at 6:41 PM
    This article has easy explaining of molting & great tips on helping our girls through the process! Thank u, I am going to implement many of ur tips!
  2. Jcherry9099
    "Informative"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 16, 2019
    Very informative, thanks for your contribution!
  3. Thesweetbirdsflock
    "Very helpful!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2019
    Excellent article!
  4. analyticalblonde
    "Was worried but now am calmer!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 12, 2019
    As a few others have mentioned, I am a newbie and didn't know very much about the molting process. Although I have read up on the matter, the information wasn't exactly as concise and thorough as your article. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to put this article together...it really outlined specific information and guidelines that I know will come in handy soon.

    As another member mentioned, I too would love more pictures of the molts in the process so that I can study the features and it would be great to link the "Molt Muffin" recipe as well.

    Wonderfully written!
    Tinamariebutterfly likes this.
  5. Chickengene
    "Whoooh, started out like a Steven King novel"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2019
    Great read. So thankful all my birds are slow molter's. I have never noticed any of them looking bare.
    I had one I thought was molting. Looked scary. Then I found out it was from sexual abuse by my neighbor's duck. Shortly after foxes got him Ruby started looking like herself again.
    analyticalblonde likes this.
  6. Montana Dona
    "Great info on molting!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2019
    This is my first year to have a little flock of chickens and I’m loving it! I appreciate all the great information I have found on BYC. I like being knowledgeable and prepared for the different stages of my girls’ lives so I can help them through any hard times. Thank you for the great articles, forums, and pictures. My girls are happy, healthy, productive, and sweet because you help make me a great chicken mom!
    analyticalblonde likes this.
  7. SurferchickinSB
    "Interesting and informative"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2019
    analyticalblonde likes this.
  8. ButtonquailGirl14
    "Wonderfully done!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2019
    analyticalblonde likes this.
  9. ChickEngineer
    "Answers many of the question about molting"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2019
    analyticalblonde likes this.
  10. HennyPenny2019
    "SO helpful"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2019
    great article for me as a new chicken owner. So much info here I didn’t know .. will be going back to re-read and take notes. My girls are 15 weeks so I’m expecting to see a molt before long.
    analyticalblonde likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: