Teach me the basics of worms...

cochin44

Songster
10 Years
Jan 30, 2009
St. Amant, LA
Hi,
I know there are a million posts about worms, but I need to start real basic.

1.How do chickens get worms?

2.At what age is this most common at?

3.What are the signs?

4.What is the best medicine?

5. Do you take preventative steps or treat once they have them?

Thanks...
cool.png

Quote:
I am a beginner at raising poultry. Someone with experience will weigh-in on this subject and help you. From what I do know:

Chickens can get worms from eating manure, or from eating grit from the dirt and because they eat off of the ground itself, where parasite eggs can be.

As far as I know there is no age that they cannot have this happen.

You may see worms in their stool. It may be lackluster health, low energy, etc.

You can use most anything recommended by your co-op or at places such as Tractor Supply , or a veteranarian. For my dog, I use black walnut tincture, wormwood, and ground cloves. It works, but would be hard to administer with chickens.

Preventative measures most often found on this forum is to dust down your floor with food-grade diatomaceous earth (DE) before doing litter and adding it to litter and also having it in the dust bath. Some add it to feed. You might find feed that has de-worming additives. Do not let others in your run. No telling what they have on their feet. Many growers/hatcheries practice bio-security for that and other reasons and allow no one but employees around their birds.

Last edited:
i dont know about the best treatment but parasites live in the dirt, plants, and everywhere around us.. from what i've learned from my own expeirence they mostly get them when they eat something that was a host of the parasite, like a bug or a worm... if your feeding your animals any meats always cook them thoroughly like you would yourself..

signs of parasites would be: