Sunny Has bumblefoot! HELP!

Pet Duck Boy

Songster
10 Years
Dec 12, 2009
Orlando, FL
After finding out Sunny was underweight, I studied her some more to see if anything else was causing her distress. I fed the ducks at the lake, and boy...did those things eat! But Sunny only takes a few mouthfuls. Which is only enough to round her chest. Before she would eat until she looked as if she was gonna explode! Everything was normal behavior wise. But I noticed something on her foot while she scratched her head. My heart jumped as I looked at her feet. Bumblefoot. It made sense, I never considered her feet very much. We would often take walks on the concrete sidewalk. Little did I know that I was causing her pain. Poor Sunny! No more walks from here on. Ok, ok...how do I cure it? I know you have to cut the sore open in severe cases, but her's isn't SO bad. But I can easily identify it as bumblefoot. It looks like a small lump with a scab on her "heel". I guess I caught it early, cause she doesn't show pain. And happily dabbles away in the grass. But when it comes to feeding time, she doesn't care as much as she used too. She stays in a grass pen during the day, and in a dog carrier at night. The carrier does have blankets in it. We clean those everyday, but I have to say it was the walks scraping up her feet. Please help everyone! This is my first obstacle with Sunny. Keep in mind I live in the near the city. No exotic vets around here.
So....help!

Last edited:
Put bumblefoot in the subject of this post.

I have heard of people soaking it and it going away on its own but i have no personal experience with it. i hope your girl gets better soon,
fl.gif

Ok, I NEED Nettie's duck shoes! That will help us out A TON!
Meanwhile, how do we bandage up her feet? And how do we treat them? Soak them? In what?
I need quick answers!