Help! I'm not sure if my broodys egg are good & other....

gritsar

Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!
14 Years
Nov 9, 2007
SW Arkansas
problems.
barnie.gif

Today is day 8 of my broody sitting on eggs from my other, older flock (brahmas). The brahma eggs are always fertile when I crack them in a bowl for eating, but I have never tried to hatch them before.
I was planning on waiting until this weekend to candle the eggs, since DH has promised to make me a proper candling box (vs. a flashlight).
I was just out in the coop and smelled a horrible smell. Smelled like broody poop, but my broody was on her nest and she hadn't pooped. I checked the entire nest, no poop. So I'm thinking one of the eggs is bad, but I checked all of them and they don't have a smell, other than smelling mildly of hay.
I decided to candle them using a flashlight. Not sure if I'm doing it right. All I see is nothing, cept for a few (porous?) spots; not alot, just a few.
I can't figure out if I'm not doing it right or the eggs are no good. If they aren't any good, what do I do? Find her more eggs?
Advise please.
fl.gif

I'm no help at all, just wanted to wish you good luck! I'm kinda in the same spot with my bator eggs. I've tried to candle and have seen nothing.
sad.png

I hope more knowledgeable folks chime in soon for you!

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=261876
Does
it look like the 28 hours picture?

I don't throw eggs away until around 2 weeks, myself. But then I have only hatched 3 times. I feel safe at 2 weeks if there is no development, or if you can see that the chick died after a few days.

I personally would wait and check again in another week if possible without disturbing your broody's trance, lol, (I don't have experience with broodies) since they all smell fine.

I have a fear of (as another BYC'er said once) throwing away a chick.

Quote: