Hova Bator - Circulated Air Genesis Egg Incubator W/ Electronic Therm - 1588

Average User Rating:
4.9375/5,
  • Is Preset for bird eggs. Simply plug in and add water and eggs. Comes with an electronic thermostat that regulates temperature in the 99.5 Degree F. Top has a large clear plastic window for best viewing of the incubation and hatching process. Picture window is double plate plastic with air space insulation to help eliminate moisture buildup, which would obstruct viewing. Large viewing area is ideal for classroom work, science projects, advertising and promotional work, and for group observation of the hatching processes. Dimensions: 18" x 18" x 9 1/2", 110 Volt AC
  • a15879e8_GQF_1588.jpeg

Recent User Reviews

  1. JerryR708
    5/5,
    "Works great right out of the box"
    Pros - Works out of the box with no temperature adjustments needed. Large top viewing window. Great hatch rates Humidity levels can be adjusted. Can be used with automatic egg turner.
    Cons - Needed to add warm water every one or two days to the troughs with a drinking straw. This was due to living in the high desert where the air is dry.
    Spacious enough playground inside after hatch with ample headroom to enjoy their stay, should the need arise if they hatch unexpected while you're away or asleep. The styrofoam body feels sturdy and all the components seem decent quality.
    Here is a 2 of 6 page sample based on my area of humidity monitoring and adjustments needed for the high desert dry climate:
    2/7/17-Ordered Hova-Bator from GQF
    2/8/17- Cleaned coop, added fresh shavings, preparing for collecting eggs from my 3 hens while waiting for Hova-Bator to arrive in mail.
    2/9/17-Collected my first 3 eggs, placed them in a clean plastic egg container. Turning them 3x's daily by tilting the egg container every 8 hours and resting one end of container on a 4 1/2" box or book.
    2/10/17-Collected 2 eggs, Continued tilting egg container 3 x's daily.
    2/11/17-Collected 2 eggs, tilting eggs 3 x's daily.
    2/12/17-Collected 3 eggs, tilt eggs 3 x's daily.
    2/13/17-Collected 1 egg, tilt eggs 3 x's daily.
    2/14/17-Collected 3 eggs, tilt eggs 3 x's daily.
    2/15/17-Collected 3 eggs, tilt eggs 3 x's daily.
    2/15/17 Hova-bator arrived. Followed instructions, set it up by 9:20 pm and by 11:50 pm, the temp was reading 99.9 and humidity 49% both stabilized after 2 1/2 hours. The automatic egg turner is working. I placed all 17 eggs in the Hova-Bator. Eggs were never washed. All eggs were somewhat clean and of normal shape and size. Note: next time I'm weighing the eggs for healthy size (56g).
    2/16/17-Collected my final 2 eggs at 4:20 pm and set them in for a grand total of 19 eggs.
    2/17/17- (7:40 am) (99.8/47%) Added 1 Tbsp. warm water to trough #1.
    2/19/17- (4:20 pm) (99.9/39%) Added 8 Tbsp. warm water to trough #1.
    2/20/17- (3:05 pm) (99.9/52%) Removed red vent plug.
    2/20/17- (3:30 pm) (99.9/49%) Replaced red vent plug.
    2/21/17- (5:00 pm) (99.5/26%) Added 3 Tbsp. warm water to trough #1.
    2/22/17- (4:20 pm) (99.8/26%) Added 8 Tbsp. warm water to trough #1.
    2/23/17- (9:00 pm) (99.9/47%) Added 2 Tbsp. warm water to trough #1.
    2/23/17- (11:00 pm) (99.9/46%) Added 2 Tbsp. warm water to trough #1.
    2/24/17- (7:00 am) (99.8/46%) Added 2 Tbsp. warm water to trough #1.
    2/24/17- (6:45 pm) (100/46%) Added 3 Tbsp. warm water to trough #1.
    2/24/17- (9:30 pm) (99.8/48%) Candled all eggs, cream egg #12 has light blood ring (not good, will have to watch)
    2/25/17- (2:30 pm) 99.9/46% Added 3 Tbsp. warm water to trough #1.
    Overall:
    5
    Purchase Price:
    Hova-Bator $134.95, Automatic Egg Turner $51.98, Shipping $21.66 = $208.59
    Purchase Date:
    02/07/17
  2. lutherpug
    5/5,
    "Set and Forget"
    Pros - Accurate out of the box
    I'm an incubator newbie but I finally bit the bullet and bought this one. No regrets at all. It was accurate out of the box with no adjustments needed. Easy to operate, I love the digital display. My first hatch was a success and my second looks right on track as well. Happy I bought this one.
    JerryR708 likes this.
  3. Hope Hughes
    5/5,
    "Great incubator we have 2!"
    Pros - Easy to clean, easy set up, maintains temps and humidity,
    Cons - Doesn't hold enough , trays cheaply made
    We have two to hatch our quail eggs in and thry work great. We have hatched chickens & geese in them as well. Worth the money if you just want to hatch small batches here and there.
    Eduardo Danies likes this.

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. ChickenLady4kids
    I have 3 of these and love them
  2. Peeps61
    I have one of these and my first hatch went well. My chicks are in the brooder box peeping now!
  3. sueiris
    so if you were going to pick between the two, brinsea and the Havobator, which would you pick?
  4. MessyLove
    IM having problems; I think my eggs are no good now. My Hova is getting way to hot and I even lowered the dial.
  5. Peep_Show
    Yes! There is a lot of headroom space. It is a tall incubator. I bet you could even hatch an emu.
  6. Quailsong
    Late reply but you're confusing crocodiles with chickens. Only reptiles (turtles, crocodiles, etc) hatch gender based off temperatures. Chickens are not directly reptiles (even if they may have dinosaurs in their ancestry). You're just getting un/lucky w/ your hatches, is all. :)
  7. alohachickens
    Got mine full right now. Put in 42 eggs and I have 39 chicks developing at 10 days in! Have only checked it once since I plugged it in.
  8. BullChick
    Uh oh! I need to water the plants! Not kidding.
    Thank you for the review. You said just the right things to make me want it, and feel good about it.
  9. leirob007
    I run 5 different brands of incubators. Where a small portable incubator is concerned the Hovabator Shines way above the competition. It holds moisture ( humidity ) so much better then all the rest of them, The forced air fan is an essential part and the key to this kit. Perfect Hatches are not only possible but quite common in mine. The plastic lining tray .. well I can not say enough good things about that. I can not figure out why every manufacturer does not copy this except they must not think YOU are worth the extra effort. It is rare I write a recommendation but this one is from the heart. Robert Leigh.
  10. hennyandpenny

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: