1 week old chicks trying to fly out of brooder?

MontanaDolphin

Songster
6 Years
Feb 16, 2013
Columbia, Virginia
My 6 babies turned a week old on Wednesday. Since yesterday, they have been attempting to fly out of the brooder. They stretch their neck as far as it will go, eyeballing the top edges of the brooder, run, jump and flap their wings. Today one was able to fly and land on top of the plastic feeder. My brooder is just a big cardboard box, about 3 inches shy of 2 feet tall. Is that too short? This is my first time raising chicks, and I thought chickens were terrible at flying. Should I clip their wings, or ductape some cardboard around the top edges to make it taller? I don't want them to get out...I have a chocolate lab who looks at them like they are her next snack, and I've been trying to train her to understand they are off limits, but if one gets out, and starts running, I don't think she'll live it alone...and I might have a dead or injured chick on my hands. We've been without electricity since Wednesday (11 inches of wet heavy snow took down tons of trees and power lines here in Goochland County Virginia), and normally they would be in the spare bedroom with the door closed, but I've had to move them into the den where the woodstove is in case the generator runs out of gas and they are without their heat lamp until I get it refeuled.

Can anyone tell me what I should do?? Thanks!

A wood stove will normally provide adequate warmth during a power loss.

Chicks will fly right out of a brooder with 2' sides. You'll need to have 3' sides. At 4 weeks? You'll need to sometimes put netting over the top to keep them in. LOL.

The good news is that at 5 weeks, with spring in full swing at that time? They don't/won't need to be in the brooder anymore.

Throw something over the top. An old window screen works great, but even a sheet or blanket will work.

They can get pretty high
D.gif

And they won't stop trying.