17 week old silkie pullets turning red in the combs. Normal?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Critter Crazed, Oct 25, 2009.

1. Critter Crazed

Critter Crazed Chicken Cuddlin' Cheesehead

Jun 22, 2009
    First of all, I'm really new at this whole chicken raising business thing so if this is a really stupid question, I'm sorry. [​IMG]

My 5 silkie girls are starting to turn red in the combs and even around where the wattles will be growing in. Is this normal? I'm almost positive they are pullets because I just gave away 4 crowing silkie roos about two weeks ago. They started crowing at 14 weeks old so they matured really early for silkies as well. [​IMG]

I thought redness around that area meant maturity? Does this mean I will get early eggs? Because I always thought silkies matured really late. I thought they started laying eggs at like 5-8 months old...? Or am I wrong about this? [​IMG]

Oh, also my bantam cochin roo doesn't seem interested in the girls just yet. He's 17 weeks old too. Will he become "interested" soon because of this? I only just noticed their combs about a week ago. They aren't *red* but you can tell the combs are a reddish color from a distance.

Thanks. [​IMG]

2. chicknjane

chicknjane Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2009
    Pine Grove, PA
    I'm prettty sure the reddening combs and wattles is just a sign they are maturing. It may not be a good indication of egg laying though because it took about 5 - 6 weeks after my pullets started getting red combs before they started laying.

I'm not familiar with silkies, but I do know that every chicken is different, regardless of breed, they all lay when they are ready, crow when they are ready and mate when they are ready, not when we think or are told they should be ready. I had my BO lay at 22 weeks which was 3 week before the 2 red sex links ( who are supposed to be early maturing layers, they started laying at 25 weeks old).