1st timer-homemade bator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by TNBluebird, Oct 18, 2009.

1. TNBluebird

TNBluebird Out Of The Brooder

Oct 18, 2009
    Smyrna, TN
    This is my first time hatching eggs! I'm a teacher and we are going to do this in my 2nd grade classroom. I have poured over all the information on this website for days now. I used all the "homemade bator" pages to help me, primarily Miss Prissy's. Thanks to you all! I do have a few chickens and we raised them and hatched eggs growing up so I' know a tiny bit.

At this point I'm trying to get the temp regulated. I have a pc fan, 40w bulb and water heater thermostat. I also have 3 thermometers in the bator. I'm trying to get it adjusted to stay at 99. I just checked it and all three thermometers were at 101. So I just lowered the thermostat a bit.

I have my eggs. I ordered them and they all arrived safe and sound. They are waiting in a closet that is at 60 degrees. Hopefully I can get the temp to stabilize. I need to put them in on Tue. so that they will hatch while the kids are at school.

So again, a HUGE thank you to all the info and humor that I've found here. This is by far the BEST website I've found. So wish me luck! I don't want to let my kiddos down.

2. Chikpee

Chikpee Out Of The Brooder

Oct 18, 2009
    I wish you luck - the children will love it.

Fingers crossed for a great hatch [​IMG]

3. TexasVet

TexasVet Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 12, 2008
    Willis TX
    40 watts sounds like a bit much. You might want to use a smaller wattage bulb.

Another option, just to make sure you have a good hatch, is to post a "would like to borrow an incubator" ad on Craigslist. If you were near me, I'd let you borrow mine! And then I'd take any extra chicks off your hands. [​IMG]

Kathy, Bellville TX
    www.ChickenTrackin.com

4. Sillystunt

Sillystunt Master of the Silly

Jul 11, 2008
    Winter Haven, FL
    40 is fine. You have a thermosat so your good~ Just watch your humidity