24 2 week old Cornish X's eating too much?

Armyman2007

In the Brooder
10 Years
Jan 14, 2010
Hi all this is my first time raising chickens. I have 24 cornish X's that will be 2 weeks old tomorrow. They are eating 10 pounds of 20% Dumor starter feed and drinking 3 gallons of water per day. I give them food and water 24/7. Is this too much food/water intake? I can't believe they eat and drink this much!

According to welp hatchery you should feed them for twelve hours on twelve hours off, water all the time. I am at 5 weeks with my cornish X and i have had to kill 3 already because i was feeding them 24 hours a day. This is also my first time with meat birds which is why i quote whelp hatchery and a lot of other people seem to think this way to. It give the birds a chance to develop their heat and lungs by not feeding them 12 hours a day. Also a good alternative should you have bad luck with them like i am freedom rangers seem to be the highest recommended for meat birds slightly slower growing but no problems.

That does seem like a lot. I haven't kept total track of water consumption before but I have a batch of 26 that are about a week and a half old and they don't even get through one gallon of water in 24hrs. My waterer holds 1gal and I fill it with fresh vitamin water every day. It has yet to be totally empty when I fill it in the morning. I am restricting feed with this batch and they probably only eat a pound or two of feed in the 12hr period they have food available. I'll weigh the food tomorrow and see what the difference is, but I highly doubt it is above 2lbs, let alone close to 10.

Last edited:
nope, right on track! at two weeks now you should withhold feed at night. which means they are going to trample you in the morning, lol. Expect the water consumtion to almost double every week, and don't let them go without. Even keep full wateres in their pen at night until you start turning off the lights. Have sympathy I have 88 right now!