2nd Time...and...I HAVE 11 CHICKS...Watch 'em Hatch!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Grillmaster33, Apr 29, 2008.

1. Grillmaster33

Grillmaster33 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2008
    Triad, NC
    I am a school teacher (With a vlog on youtube, check it out, same name) and I asked myself what better way to give my6th graders a memorable year than to hatch chicken eggs. Raising chickens, like teaching, is a passion of mine. Only I'm not able to do so for I live in the inner-city (apartment-home pshhht).

So, what fun it will be! We are on our second batch of eggs. The first batch, as you may have read, was not at all successful. We were shipped 6 Golden Campine bantam and 6 Dutch Mille Fleur bantam eggs. Many of which never started to develop, several of which quickly became blood rings, and two of which made it into week three. One chick stopped developing at Day 16. And the other (The Lone Ranger!) pipped the shell but never hatched.

In the meantime, we were shipped a NEW batch! We started with 15 mixed bantam eggs. One was tossed-blood ring.

Two others stopped developing and it looks as if the Araucana bantam egg never began to develop (hard to see through). So we are left with 11 very active embryos. Day 14 is upon us, and we are as excited as ever!

I made this post to keep you all informed of our progress. Keep your fingers crossed and send those positive hatching/pipping/chirping vibes!

Thanks!

Last edited: May 9, 2008
  2. coffeemama

coffeemama Barista Queen

Mar 5, 2008
    Oregono
    Good luck!

3. Grillmaster33

Apr 18, 2008
    Triad, NC
    What I didn't tell....

So...when I found out The Lone Ranger wasnt going to keep crackin' the shell....and after some tough lessons were taught to the children...

I went to get feed, cracked and bought three chicks...
    They're the biggest hit since recess!

Red- Ameraucana
    [​IMG]

AfroPuff - WC Polish
    [​IMG]

PhatCat - Ameraucana
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 29, 2008