3 day old chick very weak!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by zookeeptd, Feb 25, 2012.

1. zookeeptd

zookeeptd Out Of The Brooder

Feb 15, 2012
    North Mississippi
    I'm a newbie here and enjoy your forum! I'll tell more about myself and flock later but for now I need advice. We picked up our 25 3 day olds yesterday from Cackle. 1 of the Cherry eggers has been very weak and mostly alseep. Any advice? I have made sure she's drinking and she's been pecking some.

2. howfunkyisurchicken

howfunkyisurchicken Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2011
    Tn
    When I have weak chicks like that, I make them a mash of chick starter and warm sugar water. Make it real wet so you can suck it up with a medicine dropper. Then squeeze a drop out and touch it to the end of the chicks beak. The baby should then swallow it down. Repeat until it doesn't want any more. Feed it this way every couple of hours until its up and eating on its own. Good luck and welcome to BYC!

3. zookeeptd

Feb 15, 2012
    North Mississippi
    Thank you I'm on it!!

4. zookeeptd

Feb 15, 2012
    North Mississippi
    She's just limp. Breathing kinda fast and won't even sit up or open her eyes but I did get a tiny amount in. I can't get any response from her at all by moving her or touching her. I feel she's not gonna make it. I know everyone says it's normal for a few to not make it but it just breaks my heart! Such a lil miracle so not fair!!

5. zookeeptd

Feb 15, 2012
    North Mississippi
    didn't make it. Thanks for trying to help.

6. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

I am so sorry for your loss.

7. zookeeptd

Feb 15, 2012
    North Mississippi