3 dead chickens, only 1 left

shadygrove

Hatching
11 Years
Feb 17, 2008
Hi all,

I am brand new to this forum. I inherited 4 lovely 3-4 year old araucanas when we bought our little farm this past summer. I am new to the world of chickens and have loved every minute of it.

Yesterday morning we went out to feed horses and chickens and discovered 1 dead in the chicken run, eaten where it was killed just outside the coop. We could not figure out how anything got into the area - we have a 6' high chainlink fence surrounding the coop, fully roofed with extra chicken wire fencing covering all gaps everywhere except for 3-5" gaps at the roof line which we will now cover up. Our coop area is completely surrounded by 7' high deerproof fencing, it actually looks like a compound.

This morning, we had one dead chicken on her nest, eaten, and another dead chicken not eaten on the floor of the coop.

(1) Socially/emotionally - do I need to worry about my one remaining chicken? Besides the obvious eminent physical threat, of course.

(2) What in the WORLD could be scaling not one but two wire fences with no assistance, killing and eating but not attempting to remove the carcassess, and subsequently scaling the fences again to get back out. All of this while squeezing through a VERY tiny gap from what we can tell.

Please let me know what you think, I am very worried about our remaining lovely lady and want to protect and preserve her.

Thank you for your help!
Shannon

Also - I am located in central North Carolina if anyone has particular insight regarding local predators.

Last edited:
Where i am at we have skunks and weasles which will do ANYTHING to get to a chicken, they can squeeze themselves through just about any gap. Also if the hole is big enough a raccoon would be able to climb the fence. If it is a skunk i can send you some trapping info.

Oh... Shannon, I'm so so sorry. That is awful. :aww