3 isa browns want nothing to do with me

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Samanthac, Nov 9, 2019.

1. Samanthac

Samanthac Hatching

Nov 9, 2019
    hey everyone. I’m very new to chickens but I’m already addicted. So I bought 3 pellets who I adored and they loved me! Well, the newbie I am learned the worst way about what my dog was capable of and they are now in chicken heaven . My husband ran out and adopted 3, 12 month old hens and they want absolutely nothing to do with me or the kids. Any advice on how I tame adult chickens who don’t seem to have had much human interaction?

BullChick likes this.
  2. Ted_Harrell

Ted_Harrell Songster

Sep 23, 2019
    Pembroke North Carolina
    I used to have this issue earlier in the year but I spent more time with them and they came around eventually. I normally don't advise the use of treats but it might help break the ice so to speak. Offer them something in your hand and they might be compelled to be a little more friendly...

Samanthac likes this.
  3. twendt

twendt Songster

Feb 23, 2019
    SE Wisconsin
    Hand feed them treats daily, they will eventually learn you equal good things!

BullChick, Samanthac and Ted_Harrell like this.
  4. Samanthac

Samanthac Hatching

Nov 9, 2019
    I’ve been going out 3x a day to offer meal worm and any treats. They just run from me. I was curious if the treat was just something they had no interest in, so I tried to put it on the ground. They had a field day lol

5. Peppercorngal

Peppercorngal Crowing

Feb 5, 2018
    Feather Falls, CA