3 Week Old Chick Laying on Side and Not Walking Around Much

simplesanctuary

Hatching
Apr 1, 2015
Hello! I am new to raising chicks and have a question regarding one of our chicks. I have a 3 week (almost 4 week) old chick that we noticed yesterday was not walking around as much as the rest of the flock. She is eating and drinking but not moving around very much and when she rests, she is laying on her side with her feet out... it looks so strange.

We "quarantined" her in a section of the brooder box (shorter piece of plywood that divides a smaller area for her to get some rest and not be picked on) but she can still hear the others and occasionally one of the other chicks will come hop over and visit her.

I mainly want to make sure she is not ill. I picked her up and looked at her entire body and aside from her feather coming in and looking a little awkward, she doesn't appear injured. She let me put weight on her feet and seemed to have feeling in her legs. She does walk around, but not that very much and doesn't run away like the other chicks do when I try to pick her up. Could she just have a sprain or something, or is it something else?

I appreciate any and all help.

Thanks so much!

When we first got chickens we thought one had sprained something as well, maybe from falling off a perch, and we tried to take care of her by helping her stand and providing food and water but unfortunately she passed a couple of weeks after we noticed something was wrong. Just be sure to keep your chick with the others so they don't insure the pecking order. I really hope she gets better, good luck!