4 week old dizzy, wobbly chick

njcasavant

Hatching
7 Years
Jun 9, 2012
I have nine 4 week old chicks and ten 2 week chicks. This is my first time raising chickens although I grew up with both my grandmothers raising chickens, so it's not all new to me. Yesterday one of my 4 week old chicks started walking funny. She was kind of dragging herself on the ground and then she would run around with the others and seem to be normal again. At first we thought that she had an injured foot or leg, but I checked her out and all seems to be well with her legs and feet. I have separated her from the others for now as she can't seem to walk or stand without wobbling and falling. She seems as if she might also be dizzy. If there were such a thing as a drunk chicken, she looks like that's what she would be. I have tried dropper feeding her a solution of chick feed, water and children's tylenol to see if that might help, but she doesn't take much and doesn't seem interested at all. She is eating and drinking and pooping. She's also the smallest of the 4 week old chicks. Does anyone have any ideas?

Stop giving her Tylenol RIGHT NOW! It is not appropriate to use on poultry.

Ok. Thanks for responding. I only gave her a tiny, tiny bit this morning and nothing more since. She keeps falling when she's standing and trying to clean herself. She's very shaky and has a lot of trouble walking without falling. I don't know what else to do for her. Does anyone have any ideas of what it could be?

Sorry I am totally new to the chicken raising. Currently having problems with one of mine. Is your chick curling her neck or shaking her head from side to side? Mine is and was just wondering if we might have the same problem. I just tired some olive oil. I read yogurt is good, so might try a little of that. Is your chick eating and drinking? wish I could be of more help.