A few questions about my coop/design

jwright

In the Brooder
6 Years
Feb 14, 2013
Hello all, I am new to chickens and recently we bought six Barred Rock chicks from a local feed store. My five year old daughter loves them. My questions are about the coop are the floor and the hinges for the laying box door, and access door above it. I used two layers of chicken wire for the floor, and was wondering if this will work? My wife was raised on a chicken farm and this was her idea for the waste to just go through the bottom. Also, I am trying to find some sort of support hinge/brace that will hold the doors open. Also, I have not built a door to close for the the hen box, is this necessary, I live in central Florida so cold weather should not be much of an issue, and will be inside of four foot chain link fenced yard with two Beagles, so predators should not be an issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi and
welcome-byc.gif
! I hope you are enjoying your chicks! They are so fun and grow so fast. They'll be laying eggs before you know it.

As long as you have a secure run that the coop is in, you probably don't need a pop door that closes. I have a door on my pop door, but I never close it. I'm in So. Cal, and the lowest temps we have are in the 30s that doesn't happen too often. My run is completely enclosed with galvanized corrugated roof, hardware cloth on all sides, and hardware cloth "skirt" that runs 2 feet all the way around the run. The coop is in this enclosed run. We have coyotes, raccoon, rats, and hawks that would all love to get their paws on my chickens. I'm probably missed some other predators (I can't think right now). We also have a dog (german shep/lab mix) that will not harm the chickens, but we did pick up a stray retriever that hung out in our backyard for awhile that would have loved to "play" with the chickens.