A little help with a dog bite injury

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ChandaH, Jul 17, 2010.

1. ChandaH

ChandaH Out Of The Brooder

Jun 11, 2010
    OK, I am really new to chickens and I know that keeping dogs and chickens is risky. I let my hounds out to take them for a run and a chicken had jumped the fence. My greyhound chomped her and let her go quickly when I yelled.

I caught her and tried to inspect her for wounds. Being a newbie to chickens I had a really hard time getting through the feathers to get a good look at the wound. I found a bloody wound of an unidentifiable size on her 'back' just above and behind her wing tip. I 'think' that is the only wound but I am not sure.

There are so many feathers in the way that I really can't see how bad it is. I don't know what to do about it at all. I feel helpless and clueless. Being a late Saturday afternoon there won't be any vets open. She doesn't seem to want to walk on her right leg and I am just clueless about what to do with the wound. I am actually really really upset about the whole thing and how stupid I was to not check before I let the dogs out.

I have her in a crate on top of a soft towel in my kitchen. Can anyone give me some basic suggestions on what I should do next? Should I really get in there an inspect her? How on earth do I see everything with all these feathers? Help...

Chanda

2. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

3. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida