Acting strange

DuckDuckPromise

Songster
Oct 4, 2021
Hi there! This is my first time on the “goose” forum, because we don’t have them. My sister does though, and Praise the Lord, we share information all the time with each other, as both of us have duckies and chickens. She sent me a message that I’ll put at the bottom. What do y’all think? Lord’s Willing, we’re praying one of y’all have an idea! Praying God touches the sweet goose and that this is absolutely fine, and hope any other prayer warriors will join us! This is a copy of the text that she sent me
“Hey! Any idea why a goose would shake its head a lot and act kinda tired…she is still eating, but is acting sluggish for lack of a better word. Please say a prayer for her. It may be nothing, but she is just acting different than all the others.”

Is it possible for her to be seen by a vet?

There are some things to try yourselves but without knowing the cause it’s hard to say what will work or what to do.

A vet has the best ability to narrow down what could be wrong, I understand if that just isn’t possible, but it would make things easier.

You can start by giving her b vitamins, b vitamins can calm organs and reduce inflammation as well as boost the immune system, as can vitamin c. Bring her in and keep her as stable and comfortable as possible.

If she has worms it could be causing her to regurgitate because they can slow down digestion and she can get backed up. A bacterial, viral, yeast, or Protozoa infection of the intestine like giardia can do this too.

Another possibility that can cause this is a mass in the body or zinc toxicity.