Adding To Flock

Tobster11

In the Brooder
May 22, 2019
Hello, I have 5 pullets 12 weeks old and am going to add 2 others that are 14 weeks old. My current 5 have never been vaccinated and have been on medicated start and grow since day 1. The 2 new pullets have had vaccinations including coccidiosis, so my assumption is that I should stop using medicated feed and go to non-medicated feed until the 5 are 18 weeks then all go to layer feed. Am I on the right track? Sorry, I am new at this so any advice is greatly appreciated.

oldhenlikesdogs

I Want Ice Cream
BYC Staff
Premium Feather Member
6 Years
Jul 16, 2015
Wisconsin
I believe you are supposed to stop feeding medicated feed by 6-8 weeks if age, so I would stop it.

I personally never feed layer. I feed either an All Flock ration or a non medicated starter grower. I put out a separate bowl of oyster shells for the calcium needs.

If you still intend to switch to a layer I would not do it until all are laying as it's generally lower in protein and can slow maturity.

Ridgerunner

Crossing the Road
12 Years
Feb 2, 2009
Southeast Louisiana
Am I on the right track? Sorry, I am new at this so any advice is greatly appreciated.

I don't use medicated feed but it can be a good tool if it is used properly. First, look at the label. What "medicine" is in the medicated feed you are using? In the US it is almost always Amprolium but there are a few exceptions. I don't know what the practices are in other countries. What I'm going to say only applies if it is Amprolium. If it is something else, then this will not apply.