Against the odds hatching thread (with pictures and questions)

Pics

K0k0shka

Free Ranging
Premium Feather Member
Jul 24, 2019
Boston Area, MA
My Coop
My Coop
This is my first hatch, and my first hatching thread! It's sort of an experiment and the odds are stacked against me because:

1) I have no hatching experience,
2) most of my eggs have traveled very far - 2620 miles from CA to MA!
3) the breeder messed up my first order and had to re-send the remaining eggs, so the first batch had to sit around and age while I waited.... and
4) all I have is a finicky still air styrofoam incubator, which has required a lot of fiddling and experimentation to get it to work.

However, I spent all of last summer building this coop
IMG_4589.jpg

and my kids have been waiting for this moment for a year, so I'm committed to making it work! I've spent this past year reading about chickens, coops, incubation and everything, and educating myself, so I'm approaching this armed with knowledge and willing to problem-solve along the way. I want to document the process very well, first because I like this kind of thing ;) and second, to help anybody else in my situation with information, lessons learned, and pictures.

The Incubator