Aggressive Guinea... what should I do??

LovinMyHensInNC!

Songster
11 Years
Oct 3, 2008
Western North Carolina
I am very new to the whole chicken experience and have learned so much just from reading BYC (thank you, thank you!!)!! I have only owned my flock since the end of last summer. I have 5 Black Australorp hens and 2 French Guinea hens (I was told they were females). (My husband made a deal with me that I can have chickens as long as we didn't get any roosters!).

Here is my problem... One of my guineas has recently become extremely aggressive towards my chickens to the point that my poor hens all have red bare backs... it is getting really bad! I thought both guineas were females but after reading some old posts, maybe the aggressive one is a male (I can't distinguish them worth a stink)?

The reason I got guineas was for protection. We have tons of hawks and the guineas and chickens completely free-range our property (I lock them up every night in their 4 x 6 chicken house... including the guineas). So far, I have lost no birds to hawks
big_smile.png
I really don't want to permanently separate them (right now I have no fencing / pen system), I would rather just get rid of the aggressive guinea if need be.

Here are my questions (sorry this is getting long!)

- Should I eliminate the aggressive guinea? If so, will the other guinea be okay by herself with the Australorps or will she need another guinea companion?

- Should I eliminate both guineas? Do you think my hens will be safe in our hawk infested area without the guineas for alert? I chose the Australorps for being a heavier breed as another deterent. Can the hawks get them?

Thank you, thank you for any advise!

I may not be a lot of help here, but I am experiencing almost the same thing right now. I had to keep my husband from killing our male guinea last night because he was picking on one of our EE hens. I had to rescue her again tonight because he was picking on her so bad. She's limping now.