Americanas or not?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Bluerosesd, Aug 11, 2018.

1. Bluerosesd

Bluerosesd Chirping

Feb 20, 2018
    South eastern Ky
    I know true americanas are set to a standard. Otherwise they are Easter eggers. I seen a woman on a livestock page in face book offer up americanas. I have bought Orpington from her and was happy. So I tell her I want three which will make me have six. I go and pick out three thinking she is selling EE as americanas. I pick she gets money and proceeds to tell me they hatched from huge white and brown eggs. I ask her about thinking americana lays green and blue. She said no they lay brown and white eggs. Now I am no expert but EE and American lay green/blue eggs. Is she selling regular chicks with sideburns or is she wrong about these hatching from brown/white? These little girls have sideburns but are not Americana standard. So they are generic chicks or they are EE. I was wanting the EE.

Ben_2288 and Summerbirds like this.
  2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Definitely not 'Ameraucanas' and perhaps not EE; although, some EE do not lay blue/green eggs.

3. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Crossing the Road

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    They're likely mutts.
    You are right, both EEs and Ameraucanas should lay a green or blue(rare) egg. The original source of the blue gene was Araucana. After many crossings with brown layers, eggs are various shades of green. The blue pigment is throughout the shell. Most brown pigments are applied as a coating on the outside creating a green egg.
    Sometimes an EE lays brown eggs when the blue gene has been sufficiently diluted but never white and never from true Ameraucanas. You were taken. Hopefully you'll end up with nice birds but if they came from brown and white eggs, don't expect green or blue eggs from them.