Another duck question?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Barnyard, Mar 9, 2009.

1. Barnyard

Barnyard Addicted to Quack

Aug 5, 2007
    Southwest Georgia
    When ducklings hatch, do you treat them the same as you do chicks? As in, do you take them out of the turner when they fluff? Do you put marble's in there water'er? I am really new to ducks and I have babies hatching [​IMG]

2. ursusarctosana

ursusarctosana Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2008
    Spokane, WA
    Hey, I will have my first ducklings hatching in a few weeks, too. They've been under a broody hen (chicken) for approx. five days now. I ordered them through the mail and it's too early to candle yet. Maybe we can compare experiences.

3. Barnyard

Aug 5, 2007
    Southwest Georgia
    Oh wow!! Congrats. I would love to hear how yours is going.

4. Wifezilla

Wifezilla Positively Ducky

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado
    do you take them out of the turner when they fluff?

Yup

Do you put marble's in there water'er?

No, just get a Guinea Pig water bottle. It will help cut down on the mess.

Here is a thread I posted about my brooder....
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=143262

I am new to this too, but I am learning fast!!!​

Last edited: Mar 9, 2009
  5. ChickenToes

ChickenToes Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2008
    NE Wisconsin
    Yes, you pretty much treat them the same way as chicks, with just a few differences. Ducklings need less heat in their brooder than chicks do, and do not feed ducklings medicated chick starter.

I used a quart jar waterer until they were a couple weeks old, then I switched to a bowl.

6. Barnyard

Aug 5, 2007
    Southwest Georgia
    Quote:So what temp do I need the brooder? Do you think a chick water'er would work?

7. lowcountrypoultry

lowcountrypoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

I use chick waterer's for my baby ducklings, and I would imagine that the brooder should be a little lower than a chicks would be.