Any help with pregnant doe that died ...

Chick Spring

Hatching
5 Years
Mar 4, 2014
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Hello,
I'm really new at all of this and would appreciate any info you all may have.
We have a doe Californian rabbit that was born last July and we just bred her 16 days ago. She has always had plenty of pellets and water in her cage. She also gets Timothy hay each day. She just started getting a few treats about 2 months ago. We give her a carrot a week and sometimes a bit of broccoli. We watch the bottom of her cage daily to make sure that she doesn't get diarrhea and all has been well. We took her to a friend that has a buck Californian and that went smoothly. She came home and has been fine. Last night my husband gave her some Timothy hay and was scratching her and she was happy.

Today my daughter went out to check on her and she had died! There was a fluid in the bottom of her cage. It was not like water, it was thicker. It was not clear but was "cloudy". There were no visible unborn kits but we think she may have had an issue with the babies. Was she too old to breed at 9 or 10 months old? We are stumped. The feed and Timothy hay are new so no mold. She is in a garage with a steady temp of about 50 degrees, no wind, no rain. We were so excited about her having babies and we cannot figure out what went wrong. I was at work today so I was going to "palpate" tomorrow to see if I could tell if she was pregnant.

Thanks for any help or experience anyone may have.

Sorry, I don't know, but I'd like to learn so hopefully someone will post.

A couple of random thoughts... It would probably help to know how long since she met the buck.