Are sick chicks an everyday occurance?

Waters-flock

Chirping
Dec 17, 2020
Central Texas Hill Country
Please excuse if this is a dumb question but I am new to the world of chickens. I ordered chicks (first time) that should have been delivered last week. The brooder was ready, the coops are built and I was ready, and excited to go. Unfortunately, my chicks couldn't ship (freezing temps) so we had to postpone until June. Now I have time on my hands to read and prepare some more (over preparing is in my nature). I have been reading posts and am starting to get terrified that I need to quickly become a chicken veterinarian before I can care for my baby chicks. I now know what pasty butt is and I know what to do (theoretically) if a chick has legs that are spread out. But trying to learn all the different ailments and issues that chicks come up with is getting a little overwhelming. I'm okay with some first aid (I have two large dogs) but how much of this do I have to master before my chickies arrive? And can I expect issues to come up with each batch?

I would try not to over-think things. There are some real experts here, and some people who do way more than you need to. The important thing is to do the basics and be humane if anything does go wrong. Have the brooder set up and temperature-stable, be ready to have warm water to drink and food. If mail order, cover the shavings/straw with paper towels until the chicks learn food vs bedding. Be flexible with the temperature in case they throw off more body heat than you planned. And if you have small kids or other sensitive people, be aware there may be some DOA chicks no matter how timely the box arrives at the post office. Then if there are problems, by all means post here and the pros can answer it. Good luck!