Automatic Chicken Coop Door

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by EngineeringChic, Jan 18, 2014.

1. EngineeringChic

EngineeringChic New Egg

Jan 17, 2014
    Hi y'all,

My name is Zoe and I am a second year engineering student. For our Design class, we have been tasked with creating an automatic chicken coop door that would open in the morning to let the chickens out and close at night once the chickens are back inside the coop. We are also planning on attaching a temperature and water sensor that would detect if it's too cold or raining so the door would not open under those conditions as well. As part of our research, we just have a couple of questions that we would like to ask you about this potential product.

1) Would an automatic chicken coop door be of any interest to you?
    2) If so, how much would you be willing to pay for it? (Less than 100$, between $100-$200, or over $200)
    3) If you already have a chicken coop door, are there any issues with it that you would like to be resolved?
    4) Would you rather have a door that runs on solar/battery power or electric power? Would you willing to pay extra for the solar panels?
    5) Should the door open on the side or from above?
    6) Should a sensor be added on the door to count how many chickens have entered the coop and only close once all the chickens have re-entered the coop or are there usually not many stragglers come night time?
    7) What would you consider a good sized chicken coop door? 1ft x 1ft or slightly larger or smaller?

Thanks ahead of time for helping out with our project!

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop