Bantams in the flock?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by taprock, Jul 24, 2011.

1. taprock

taprock Chillin' With My Peeps

I am new to bantams. I have 36 chickens of a variety of breeds. Only 3 are bantams. I have 2 roos and a hen. Will bantams fit in with a large fowl flock or will they get picked on? I love my little hen and don't want anything to happen to her. Is it true that the roos are more aggressive? I have a home for one of the roos but starting to reconsider having either as they are little but seem to like to pick fights. Should I get more [​IMG] to keep my few company?

2. Chiko

Chiko Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 25, 2010
    Orem, Utah.
    My bantams fit in great with my Large Fowl. I have a Large Fowl cochin and a Bantam Cochin, I also have an Australorp that's good friends with my Japanese Bantams [​IMG] They should be fine.

3. Pele

Pele Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2011
    Boise
    It depends on your flock, to be honest. Some mix fine, some flocks are more closed and would pick on your bantams (it also depends on the bantams personalities).

I personally have had miserable luck with it. I had a flock of 5 standard sized girls (Red SLs and an EE) that completely rejected two bantam cochins I tried to introduce to them. I spent 3 weeks trying to intergrate them, and tried all the tricks. Nothing worked; my standards were out for cochin blood. I eventually gave up because I was starting to feel cruel making the cochins endure all of that, and gave them to a neighbor who has a bunch of bantams herself. (she bought a straight run and ended up with 10 roos out of 14 birds). She was deeply grateful for the hens, and the cochins were probably deeply grateful not to be harrassed by giant monsters anymore.

Just do the usual steps for introduction, and your birds will let you know if it's going to work or not.

4. TinyTotsSeramas

TinyTotsSeramas Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2011
    Smithsburg