Bare Butts on my chickens!

LoriNSally

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 27, 2011
Hi All

Thanks in advance for your help! It is my first year having chickens, I have 11 (9 heavy breed and 2 bantam) laying hens. I live in Maine and so the ground is frozen and there is some snow on the ground. The girls have a 8x8x8 coop with 3 laying boxes, 2 long roosting poles, and a poop/perch board. They also have a 10x10x4 outdoor pen in which to play (I close this off at night to protect from our many preditors). I recently noticed that 2 of my girls have feathers missing on their butts. I suspect this may be from boredom and pecking at eachother. I have a couple of homemade flock blocks in their pen that they peck at, as well as put vinegar in their water. I'm not sure what else to do! I plan on building them a bigger pen in the spring when the ground is not frozen to give them more space. Does anyone have any ideas? Also, is this from something other than pecking?

In their coop they have pine shavings that I dust with diatomaceous earth and am trying to do the deep litter method. I thought this kept bugs away, but that's a possibility I guess.....

Thanks!!
p

I think that looks like pecking....Why not "set a spell" and just watch them for about a half hour or so if you can. You will probably see the feather picker in action. Here's a hint: It will be the chicken with all her feathers intact. haha

You could also check for lice. Sometimes wild birds seek refuge with the chickens when it's very cold out, and they transfer the lice to your domestic birds. Demacious Earth really doesn't work for a lice infestation.

Let us know what you find! Good luck,
Sharon

From what Ive learned if a chicken is starting to molt the other girls will start picking on her. I dont see any blood on her butt so it isnt likely to be that. If the chickens are wanting more protein they will eat their own and others feathers. Might be that.
Sometimes they're bored and will do it for something to do.