Barred Rock feather loss

FabFable

Hatching
6 Years
May 23, 2013
I have been devoring the information on this site. I'm new to chickens, have 7 different breeds raised from chicks that are now 5 months old, all hens. Igave rage 2 eggs a day right now. Today I was shocked while petting my Barred Rock she had a bald patch on her back at the top of her tail. She is the only one, her feathers are shiny, she eats well, is high up on the pecking chain. I see no signs of skin, feather or bug issues, the 6 others do not have this spot, only my barred rock. Should I be concerned or looking for other health issues? It's sad to see such a beautiful happy girl with her bald patch.

It's quite possible she could be getting bullied by the other chickens and so they are pulling out her feathers. But as you said she is high up on the pecking chain, I wouldn't be so sure. It doesn't sound like bug issues to me.

I have been devoring the information on this site. I'm new to chickens, have 7 different breeds raised from chicks that are now 5 months old, all hens. Igave rage 2 eggs a day right now. Today I was shocked while petting my Barred Rock she had a bald patch on her back at the top of her tail. She is the only one, her feathers are shiny, she eats well, is high up on the pecking chain. I see no signs of skin, feather or bug issues, the 6 others do not have this spot, only my barred rock. Should I be concerned or looking for other health issues? It's sad to see such a beautiful happy girl with her bald patch.
Can you watch them for a while, over several days and see if she is being picked on? Usually BR's are top hens...as you said, she is high on the pecking order. If she was older, I would think she was going into a molt, but she is too young...I'd keep a close eye on her, if I were you...seems something is amiss, but without more info, it's hard to say.