Battery hens

redmarealpha

Hatching
5 Years
Aug 3, 2014
A friend of mine stopped outside an egg operation and saw a big box by the side of a dumpster. He peeked inside of it, and found six live hens in with about as many dead ones. He threw the dead ones out and brought the live ones to me, since they were in such bad shape, he couldn't sell them.
I am a novice chicken lover, I've only had a few "pets" in about as many years, so I have NEVER seen anything as pathetic as these young hens. They are nearly naked, their beaks cut off, and one has bumblefoot in both feet, the lumps about as large as big olives. I'm really worried they won't grow feathers fast enough to beat winter, as it's already late August here and it gets cold around September.
They've been exploring the barn, and amazingly enough, have even been laying eggs. I have a very young Amarcuana rooster, one Black Austrathorpe, and an older black Sex Link that hatched some eggs I got from a friend. Just cast offs, but I love them. How can I help the battery hens recover in time for winter, and will their beaks grow back? They are in serious trouble feather wise, and I know I'll have to deal with the one poor hen's feet. She's not lame, but the infection might kill her if it's not treated. Is there anyway at all those can be treated without cutting them out? My Vet is a farm Vet, and his advice wasn't very helpful, as I could have thought about killing her all by myself.
If I have to surgically remove them, I will, I just dread having to hurt her, she's been through so much already.
Any advice would sure be appreciated.

Poor hens! Good for your friend for rescuing them. Their appearance is not unusual for battery hens, since their main purpose is to lay eggs, with not as much attention paid to their well being/looks.