Beginner's Luck!!

Orps

Songster
7 Years
May 25, 2012
Hi everyone just had to brag a little about my chicken breeder.

I'm VERY new to chickens. I haven't own a chicken since I was a child and my parents were the ones who took care of them. I just played with them like toys. So that tells you how much I know about chickens.

However, I did my research on the breed and picked the ones I would be interested in owning. As for getting the chicks itself I was told by several people that I would be happier getting them from a local breeder and I’m thankful for the advice.

I found the breeder in the same city as I was in. Emailed and talked to the lady and she was very knowledgeable. I liked the fact her stock with not hatchery stock. I liked it that I got to see the parents of the chicks. I like it that she understood I can’t have any cocks and that she was willing to take any back. And she was definitely willing to help me in anyway she can. And it didn’t hurt that she had these unique color birds. So I got 5 BBS chicks hoping that I will have a couple female splash orps.

The 1-4 days chicks were wonderful. Healthy as horses! After the 2nd day, I found the brooding light useless and turn it off. 1 week later they had short outdoor trips. 2 weeks later they are running around and spending most of the days outdoors. At 4 weeks old they are 2-3lbs pigs! Didn’t realize chicks can eat so much! And did I mention the temperament. They are like little feathery dogs. Especially one of them which unfortunately I had a sneaky suspicion was a cockerel.