Best breed considering 3 factors; eggs, meat, and cold hardiness

Pics

dudefromtampa

Songster
11 Years
Apr 29, 2012
I have been raising chickens for a few years now and have had several breeds over the years. This coming year, I'd like to raise one that is dual-purpose (good tasting meat as well as laying a decent number of eggs per year), as well has being very cold hardy. That is the major criteria I'm looking for in the chickens but I'd prefer a breed with a decent temperament as well as being cost productive meat-wise as well.

I originally zeroed in on Rhode Island Whites and White Chanteclers but the cost of the Chanteclers became an issue. Then I looked at the Comets but found out you can't rely on their eggs for the continuance of their flock.

Then I settled (momentarily) on Rhode Island Reds.

Just curious if this question has been asked in these forums before and if so, what the consensus was/is.

Thanks for any replies.

Joe

Any dual purpose breed should fit your needs. Buff Orpingtons are a good one too, as well as Australorp and rocks. I have found most breeds winter hardy here in Wisconsin, though large comb roosters will get frostbite on combs and wattles but all recover fine.

Where are you located? From my experiences chantecler aren't the best layers anyways.

Any dual purpose breed should fit your needs. Buff Orpingtons are a good one too, as well as Australorp and rocks. I have found most breeds winter hardy here in Wisconsin, though large comb roosters will get frostbite on combs and wattles but all recover fine.

Where are you located? From my experiences chantecler aren't the best layers anyways.

Thank you. We raised some black orps a couple years back. They are a pleasant enough breed and lay plenty of eggs. Never had a Buff Orp tho.

We're in SE Pa.

I thought White Chantelclers were good egg layers.

Thank you for your reply