black spots on comb and wattle

poipollo

In the Brooder
7 Years
Feb 16, 2012
i noticed one of my cochins has these black specks on her comb and one of her wattles. it doesn't seem to be dirt or blood, as i tried to wash it off and the spots remained. i also put vaseline on her comb thinking it was frostbite (it's been about 12 degrees F here at night, and my 4 hens sleep in an unheated, uninsulated, though draft free and secure, coop. they all sleep in a pile on the floor and never seem cold, though i actually tried to put in a heat lamp in on the coldest night we've had so far, but it kept them up and making noise - i finally turned it off around midnight because they were being very loud and i have close neighbors), but i'm not sure. i've been reading about pox so now i'm a little worried. i'm relatively new to chickens and don't know what, if anything, to do. any advice would be appreciated. thank you!

the spots on her comb are easier to see if you click to enlarge the photo:

Last edited:
Those dots are so small and few, they might not be pox. If you get more spots, and the other chickens start to show the same thing, it's likely pox. If it is, it will go through your entire flock. Each chicken may have it for a couple or more weeks, as I recall, and it could take several weeks to go through the flock. The good news is that, unless you see any other abnormalities, it's nothing to worry about it! My flock of 35 got it summer 2011, when they were about 5-6 months old. Looks icky, but it passes with no permanent damage. As a new chicken rancher, I did tons of research at the time. As I recall, some folks said to watch for signs of respiratory illness. Bottom line, though, is if you see no other problems, they'll be fine. (It travels through mosquitoes.)