Blind and confused hen.

everway9

In the Brooder
8 Years
Oct 9, 2011
Carlisle, Cumbria, UK
Hello to all! I hope you are all in good health.

I'm new here so please be patient with me.

My girlfriend keeps hens but only has one left now as they are quite old. I have little experience with poultry but do like chickens alot. I think they are funny and friendly.

Our hen (Jessica) has suddenly gone blind or so it seems. When you put a hand near her face she does not know its there. She seems to be able to hear very well and warbles when we go near her to try to guide her to food and water. She just sits or stands in the same place, maybe a bit disorientated and afraid but I would be if I had suddenly gone blind! She is reluctant to eat or drink but has had a little. Her comb is drooping and is dry and shriveled. She no longer ventures outside her house and if put outside just stays where she is.

Leading up to this she was and still is moulting. We had two other hens which died quite a while ago after being egg bound so I dont think she would have got any disease from them. There is another much younger hen which lives over the road and they get along just fine. This hen seems to be in excellent health.

I hope I have provided enough information for some one to be able to help me do the best thing for our lone hen.

Thanks in advance for your time and help,

Andrew.

Last edited:
Andrew, where are you located? If she is blind, she can live a good life with some adjustments. She can be a companion chicken to another disabled one. There are a few of us here that try ro rehome these special ones, it's better to have them together than alone.

How old is Jessica? Did she just suddenly go blind or possibly you didn't notice it sooner? What are the newest symptoms? I know you mentioned her comb being dry and shriveled - is that a recent occurence?