BR Tom is aggressive to my hens

Goldengirls406

Chirping
7 Years
Mar 22, 2016
Stevensville, MT
I’m somewhat new to heritage breed turkeys and could use some help.
About a month ago I got a bourbon red tom from one person, and 4 bourbon red hens from another. After an introductory period of about of week in close but separate pens, I finally put them in the same pen. My Tom bullied the girls and tried to establish dominance. Well fast forward a month later and now he wants to breed and they don’t seem to want anything to do with him (which I can’t say I blame them) but this seems to piss him off and he will try to breed with them and when they reject him he grabs them by the heads and shakes them violently. He will then chase them around the pen until he tires out and gives up. Is this normal behavior? I’ve been watching videos of other turkeys breeding and it’s not nearly as violent looking! HELP! I’m wondering if I should just let it be and see if they will eventually warm up to him…or if I should just put him in the freezer…

I’m somewhat new to heritage breed turkeys and could use some help.
About a month ago I got a bourbon red tom from one person, and 4 bourbon red hens from another. After an introductory period of about of week in close but separate pens, I finally put them in the same pen. My Tom bullied the girls and tried to establish dominance. Well fast forward a month later and now he wants to breed and they don’t seem to want anything to do with him (which I can’t say I blame them) but this seems to piss him off and he will try to breed with them and when they reject him he grabs them by the heads and shakes them violently. He will then chase them around the pen until he tires out and gives up. Is this normal behavior? I’ve been watching videos of other turkeys breeding and it’s not nearly as violent looking! HELP! I’m wondering if I should just let it be and see if they will eventually warm up to him…or if I should just put him in the freezer…