Brining more than one bird

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by mcdaid36, May 14, 2009.

1. mcdaid36

mcdaid36 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2008
    Putnam County, NY
    I bought a new cooler today, to use just for brining. I've never done this before and have a couple of questions:

1) Do you have to wait until the meat settles in the fridge for a few days and rigor has passed before putting the chicken in the brining solution?

2) If I have 6 chickens to brine, and the cooler only holds 2 at a time, can I let the first 2 soak for 24 hours, then take them out and put another 2 immediately into the same solution or should I make up a new fresh solution each time? (sounds like one of those math problems - if train A is going at 24 mph, how long will it take to reach train B who is traveling at 50 mph?)

3) How long can a freshly killed chicken stay in the fridge before it starts to go bad? In other words, I should get it into the freezer within "?X?" amount of days.

Thanks!!!!

2. mxpres

mxpres Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2009
    Lenoir,NC
    good question,I have two soaking right now,been in the brine since yesterday at 12:00,,someone please answer,i need to know also,, [​IMG]

3. saddina

saddina Internally Deranged

May 2, 2009
    Desert, CA
    As with all coking questions, results may vary:

1. No, you can put them once cleaned directly into the brine, no need to age them, but the brine must be kept cool (digital thermoter with an alarm if it goes over say 38 degrees is my tool of choice, put the probe in the brine, and let the buzzer go off, when it does top off with more ice). If you work from home like I do, you can use a 5 galon food-grade bucket, ice it, put bird in, and top off ice to keep the temp regulated for multiple birds (remember the salt lowers freezing temp, so it's easy to drop temp and let it go untill it rings for 38 and re-add ice).