Broody hen...help!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by dwegg, Jan 5, 2010.

1. dwegg

dwegg Chillin' With My Peeps

What do you do when a girl gets broody? I just got back from being away (neighbors were looking after the girls) and my BO is broody!

This is my first time with a broody chicken. I have read a few things about being broody and what to do...soooo, I put on my gloves [​IMG] because I knew she wouldn't be happy and go peacefully (yes, i am new to chickens). I picked her up (and yes she wasn't happy) and took her out to the run and put her on the ground and removed the eggs. She just sat there so i picked her up and threw her (gently) out of the run to free-range with the others. Straight away she came in ate some food and treats and drank some water so i worried how long she hadn't eaten or had water.

But after a little while of free-ranging with us she went back in to the nest. I picked her up again and took her back out to try and eat some more food esp. cracked corn scratch as it is freezing here and I wanted her to be warmer that night but all she wanted to do was get back on the nest?

I don't have a rooster and I am worried about her because...

1. she is sleeping in the nesting box alone and not with the others for warmth (it is and has been below freezing here - like everywhere else atm!)

2. she is not getting out to eat and drink.

3. and apparently there has been no eggs laid since she has been broody and I have 4 boxes for 7 girls? does this effect the others to not lay?

How do i stop her? and is it usual for hens not to eat or drink when hatching eggs? Should I have some food and water near her? or make her get out to get some?

2. The Chicken People

The Chicken People Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Smithville, Mo
    Put her on a wire bottomed cage with no bedding for a few days..she will give up!

3. dwegg

dwegg Chillin' With My Peeps