Building Credit...

little_grey_bantam

Songster
10 Years
Mar 29, 2009
Russell County
I'm a college student & want to no any of your advice on building credit...
Someone told me to get a credit card (what brand?!) and purchase small amounts on it a month & pay it off... (I am capable of doing thing... probably spend $20 a month on stuff)
Also to get a loan for $$$ - let's say, have $500 in an account, get a $500 loan & go from there...

Any thing I need to watch out for? Anything I should be aware of? Anymore advice?

Any credit card would work, do you have a favorite store you shop at that offers them, sometimes you can get discounts on your purchases when signing up for them. Or a gas card that offers you savings when filling up. As far as loans, if you have a credit union or local bank you already use then I would start there and just get a small personal loan.

I have quite a bit in loans, so I'm scared to get a loan from there in case something goes wrong (inform me if I'm being worried for no reason lol)

I heard credit cards from small stores can pummel you with huge bills & whatnot.

I'll shop around
smile.png
It'd be nice to get good credit
smile.png
Thanx!

Quote:
i only have one store card (kohls), but my minimum payments are only $7/month. Not bad. If I make a late payment, I do get hit with late fees, though. But that's pretty much standard with any credit card.

two things that really help (or hurt) your credit score is your available credit, and the average life of your open accounts. So you'll basically want to have a card with a high limit (available), open for several years. everytime you open a new card, or close an old one, you'll hurt the average life.