Building my first chicken run!

Peringle

In the Brooder
6 Years
Oct 17, 2013
Started working on the chicken run. Its about 20ft long and approximately 4-5ft wide and 3-6ft high. Using green garden fencing and garden stakes for the run and an old dog house for the coop. I will adjust the size and material as they get bigger, our numbers increase or when we move.

How many chickens do you have? It's certainly quite pretty but I do not think it's predator proof.

We have two chicks. I'm not done with it, probably be another day or two before its finished. I hope I can get it predator proof.

New chicken run, I used white wood 1x3 boards. I kept the green garden fencing and made it a little smaller. Now it's 74 inches high, 62 inches wide and 8 ft long. I still need to build the door and have to finish up the back wall before I test it out. Hope to have it done in the next couple of days.

Thanks Joan! I've never had chickens before so I'm still learning. I wasn't sure if it would work or not. I'll look into something stronger.

Thanks Joan! I've never had chickens before so I'm still learning. I wasn't sure if it would work or not. I'll look into something stronger.