Building my first coop....pictures attached, looking for suggestions/recommendations

j_mair

Chirping
Feb 1, 2021
Hello I'm new to the page but am loving all the great info. I recently became interested in getting a few hens and after tons of research decided to build my own coop to fit my yard. It's 6'x4' and have planned for the chicken door in the front under the extended roof, a larger side door for cleaning and access to the bedding (designed for deep bedding method) and the two nesting boxes in the back. All 3 sides will have hardware clothed windows above. I live in the desert so ventilation was a big consideration. the 4th side will be up against a fence so not planning on any doors or windows on that side. Take a look so far and let me know if you have any better suggestions before I move forward. Thanks!
tempImageaJqoxj.jpg
tempImageY8JGh3.jpg

Last edited:
Looks fantastic so far! Couple of questions:

1) How many chickens are you planning to have?

2) Have you considered leaving one wall mostly/completely open? You will need lots of ventilation in the desert.

I lied. There's a 3rd question - lol!

3) Will you be able to provide any shade?

I used to live in an area that got up to 115° in the summers. My birds sure suffered until I moved their coop and run under a tree.

Oh - and WELCOME TO BYC! If you love chickens, you'll love it here!

Planning for 4-6 hens. Yes an open air coop was my first design but decided I would like a bit more security even with a closed run. And yes I also plan on building an enclosed run and will be covered with plenty of shade cloth.
Looks fantastic so far! Couple of questions:

1) How many chickens are you planning to have?

2) Have you considered leaving one wall mostly/completely open? You will need lots of ventilation in the desert.

I lied. There's a 3rd question - lol!

3) Will you be able to provide any shade?