Building new coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Arthur, Sep 16, 2010.

1. Arthur

Arthur Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 7, 2010
    I'm new to all this, but I think I have some helpful advice to new coop builders. Take the length of time you think its going to take to complete your coop and multiply by four. I have five girls that are finally going to get outside this weekend. ( I hope ) :)

2. BayouPoules

BayouPoules Chillin' With My Peeps

[​IMG] +[​IMG] +[​IMG] +[​IMG] = [​IMG]

3. BWKatz

BWKatz Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2010
    Columbia,SC
    So true..and double the size u think u'll need. [​IMG]

4. briana1975

briana1975 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2009
    Carleton Mi.
    Then plan on building a second and third coop in the next year or two. We're up to 4 and 1 hoop house, a year after we built the first coop. [​IMG]

5. 33yardbirds

33yardbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2010
    Southern New Jersey
    I had from December to March to get mine done. It took till May. Now I have a 12x12 addition to put on. This one to has to be done by March 2011. Nooo Problem, I keep telling the wife. [​IMG] In my defense, I do have a bad shoulder, and I will have cheese with that wineburger. [​IMG]

6. Chic-n-farmer

Chic-n-farmer Showers of Blessings

And for every breed of chicken you plan to have you will need to multiply it by 6.

I'm a little shaky on the arithmichick but I think what you will do is take your proposed number to the 6th power.

[​IMG]

7. frog522

frog522 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 16, 2010
    San Jose, CA