Bulging cloudy eye on cockerel/chick

RedCurls

In the Brooder
Jun 24, 2022
I am a newbie that has discovered a passion for these feathered friends.
I noticed a bulging eye on this cockerel(I am not 100% sure) four months ago. At that stage the eye was almost always open but cloudy, so presumably blind. I had confirmation in his/her behaviour: easily frightened and not responsive to hand movements on the right side.
Lately I noticed black crusts on the eyelid of the bulging eye. Also he tends to keep the eyelid closed most of the time

Has anyone experienced such a condition?

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• viber_image_2022-06-23_22-22-34-872.jpg
    viber_image_2022-06-23_22-22-34-872.jpg
    226.6 KB · Views: 28
  • viber_image_2022-06-23_22-22-36-260.jpg
    viber_image_2022-06-23_22-22-36-260.jpg
    203.7 KB · Views: 7
  • viber_image_2022-06-23_22-23-54-662.jpg
    viber_image_2022-06-23_22-23-54-662.jpg
    193.6 KB · Views: 6
  • viber_image_2022-06-23_22-23-55-296.jpg
    viber_image_2022-06-23_22-23-55-296.jpg
    239.5 KB · Views: 7
Welcome To BYC

Is vet care an option?

If you are just now noticing some scabbing, then likely another chicken is picking at his eye and face.
Interestingly, I see almost symmetrical lesions/scabs on his earlobes. Not quite sure I've ever seen that before. I'd be inclined to dab some Iodine on the scabs of the comb, wattles and earlobes once a day. For the eye, he's likely lost it somehow, possibly injury or ? I'd apply a bit of Terramycin eye ointment to the scab of the eye. If you notice pus, a bad odor, etc., then seeking vet care to see if the eye needs to be removed would be a good idea.

I'll tag in @Eggcessive and @coach723 to see if they can offer better suggestions.

1656095904668.jpeg