bully hen seperated

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by hollyj, Mar 3, 2014.

1. hollyj

hollyj New Egg

Mar 2, 2014
    I am new to BYC and am very concerned about one of my girls. I have 9 Rhode Island Reds and 7 are missing back and tail feathers. The other 2 are not missing any. I have caught them pecking and jumping on the other girls. My husband caught one of them doing their bullying and we put her in TIME OUT, in a large dog crate inside the coop. My problem is it is night time and she is crying and flying around the crate, grabbing the metal door and banging into the sides. I am ready to let her out and put her in the coop for the night. It is heart breaking but so is watching the rest of my girls getting pecked daily. Please help. What should I do tonight.

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC. Do a forum search on Pinless Peepers. They are a great aid for breaking the habit of feather plucking. They can be removed once your hens have regrown their feathers.

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    You could do what Sourland suggested OR rehome her, she isn't a team player

4. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC!

5. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hi there, [​IMG]and welcome to BYC!