BULLY HEN

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by boersmamrs, Oct 10, 2014.

1. boersmamrs

boersmamrs Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2014
    So, we rescued a hen. She was being cared for by our neighbor and roosting in her tree. We have had her for about a week and a half now. Fairly recently she has been REALLY picking on the other girls. Mainly when they are on the roost.. today I put another roost in the coop to hopefully curb this behavior. I had thought that maybe there just wasn't enough space for everyone. I also moved some things around and made the space bigger on the floor . It's a 4 X 8 coop and is about 4 feet tall. during the day they are free range with plenty of room to roam. I am pretty new to chickens, I read about the pecking order and all but she is like pecking and growling and going out of her way to be mean. They try to move to a new spot and she tries to push them off by pecking and pecking. I am scared she is going to draw blood. My husband kept pushing her away from our little pullet tonight, eventually she got mad and flew out of the coop. She came back about five minutes later. She got up on the new roost and tried to start pecking the little one again. Our biggest lady pecked back at her FINALLY in defense of the little one and she stopped. She is now roosting alone on the new pole but I'd bet tomorrow night will go the same. I am also worried about the time in the morning when the sun comes out before I let them out, is she going to go at them again? I haven't noticed any injuries.. I don't know what to do? Any advice would be helpful. And no I do not want to eat her.. I want her to be nice.. is this possible to fix her attitude?

2. boersmamrs

Sep 25, 2014
    Sorry should mention that's 4 hens total with her being added to the group.

3. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies