Buzzard took one of my free range hens. What should I do?

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by spicywing, Dec 10, 2011.

1. spicywing

spicywing Out Of The Brooder

Dec 10, 2011
    Hey guys,

This is my first post as I am new to keeping hens and already having predator problems. [​IMG]
    I've had my 3 hens, one cockerel for only 6 weeks and decided to free range them as the coop is small, and we live next to some nice woodland with no traffic nor neighbours.
    Chicken paradise, or so I thought.
    So every morning I let them out and watch them with joy as they do their own thing and scratch around, doing what chickens do.
    I thought I was doing a good thing letting the chickens go anywhere without boundaries.

One hen was missing the other day after the headcount at night so I looked the next day and found it dead next to the woods, looking like the victim of a bird attack.
    The next day there were two buzzards hanging around which confirmed my verdict.

Now I am not sure what to do as I am pretty sure they will attack again. The coop is much too small to keep them in all the time and building a small run, although an option,
    was not my idea of keeping chickens.
    On the other hand, It's also not too clever either losing one every few weeks.

What would you suggest from experience?
    Will I have to keep them in and build a run?
    Are there methods for keeping birds of prey away?

Thanks for any suggestions.

2. ninabeast

ninabeast Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2011
    Upstate New York
    I would question your conclusion. I do NOT have a lot of experience, but my research told me that buzzards are not equipped to kill, but to scavenge. it sounds like something else killed your girl, and the buzzards are just the clean up crew.

Which doesn't answer your question, but there are plenty of threads on the forum about hawks, and I'll bet that's what you're dealing with...

3. spicywing

Dec 10, 2011