Calling all soapmakers!!

Kuntry Klucker

Crowing
12 Years
Jun 9, 2010
Tennesee Smoky Mts.
Hi,
frow.gif

I am looking into starting to make my own soap. I have never done this before and want to make sure that I get started on the right foot.

For those who make soap please tell me how this is done. how hard is it to make? Where do I get all the supplies? What do I need to purchase?

If you have any recipes that are tried and true if you don't mind please share, I am having a hard time finding a recipe seeing that I am not
really sure which method is best. Such as cold presses, lye or no lye, goat milk or not goat milk.

Any helpful tips would also be great. Thanks so much.
jumpy.gif

I think I've seen a thread on here for soap makers. I've thought about looking into it & making some myself. I hope you get a lot of replies because it would be interesting to see as to what actually all goes into making it..time, effort, cost. A BYCer on the Michigan Thread just made some, maybe they'll see the post & reply!!

There are atleast 2 really good threads here that have recipes, suppliers and all that. Check them out. There is also a supplier link in my signature.

There are a couple of good threads here, but they are very long.

Simply put, making cold process soap is mixing fat with caustic soda to produce a chemical reaction (saponification) which makes soap...