Can chickens hatch turkey eggs?

FathertoFeathers

Songster
Aug 26, 2019
Tennessee
I have some royal palm eggs that my turkey hens laid and they are developing. One of my turkey hens (Delia) is sitting on her clutch but my Serama hen (pancake) is hell bent on hatching some turkey eggs too. She steals two eggs from Delia and sits on them. She can completely cover two and I’ve even seen her cover three but I don’t know if it’s possible for a chicken to hatch out a turkey egg. This is my first time hatching turkey eggs so I’m pretty new at this.

I have some royal palm eggs that my turkey hens laid and they are developing. One of my turkey hens (Delia) is sitting on her clutch but my Serama hen (pancake) is hell bent on hatching some turkey eggs too. She steals two eggs from Delia and sits on them. She can completely cover two and I’ve even seen her cover three but I don’t know if it’s possible for a chicken to hatch out a turkey egg. This is my first time hatching turkey eggs so I’m pretty new at this.
I think thy technically could, but this is my opinion. If she’s determined, I think she can.

Yes, but that may cause problems considering her size and the turkey size. She can cover them now, but turkeys grow really fast as pouts and they're likely to step on her as they get older
This is very true - they will be her size by the time they're ready to be off-heat. She absolutely could, but it may not be sustainable in the long run.

Most definitely a possibility but turkey eggs take 28 days to hatch and chicken eggs take 21 which means the chicken sure will sit on the eggs but their body knows when 21 days are up and will discard the eggs or abandoned them